British Monarchy FACTS

Monarchy in Britain

The monarchy of the United Kingdom, is commonly referred to as the British monarchy.


It is the constitutional monarchy of the United Kingdom, its dependencies & its overseas territories.


The current monarch & head of state, Queen Elizabeth II, ascended the throne on the death of her father, King George VI, on 6 February 1952.

The monarch & his or her immediate family undertake various official, ceremonial, diplomatic & representational duties.


As the monarchy is constitutional, the monarch is limited to non-partisan functions such as bestowing honours & appointing the Prime Minister. The monarch is commander-in-chief of the British Armed Forces.


Though the ultimate formal executive authority over the government of the United Kingdom is still by & through the monarch's royal prerogative, these powers may only be used according to laws enacted in Parliament & , in practice, within the constraints of convention and precedent.